By Erin Trauth
Okay, I’ll admit it – though I’m a self-professed health-freak, I imbibe from time to time (in moderation, of course). While I’m not exactly a boozer, searing summer nights with friends are usually made much breezier (and sweeter) with some sort of frosty adult beverage in hand, whether it’s a cold beer or some fruity concoction–hey, I’m all about those fruit antioxidants. When I became a vegan, though, I had no idea just how many tonics of the alcoholic kind utilized animal products in their production. Beer, for example, is often processed with animal products such as isinglass (a fish product), and animal bone derivatives such as bone char, casein, charcoal and gelatin. Some beers often contain direct animal products such as milk chocolate, honey, or insect-based dyes.
Never fear, though, faithful iEatGrass reader. If you want to keep to your vegan commitment while imbibing (and you should!), the hard work has already been done for you. PETA has created a pretty exhaustive list of vegan-approved beers. Barnivore features an awesome directory of thousands of vegan beers, liquors, and wines for the discerning vegan drinker. Before heading out to your local bar or liquor store this summer, bookmark these sites on your phone for easy reference, or check out the beer list beforehand if you know where you’ll be headed.
My favorite light beer is the organic Green Lakes Amber Ale from Deschutes Brewery. If you’re at your standard sports bar with a more limited selection, try any of the Sam Adams line: Boston-brewed and vegan – can’t really go wrong there!
Do you have a favorite vegan beer brand? If so, let us know in the comments!